South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced Thursday that the BRICS club of emerging nations would welcome six new members, including Saudi Arabia, UAE and Iran, at the start of next year.

“We have decided to invite the Argentine Republic, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, to become full members of BRICS. The membership will take effect from the first of January 2024,” Ramaphosa told a summit in Johannesburg, reports AlArabia English News service.

Read Today's News TODAY... on our Telegram Channel click here to join and receive all the latest updates