FeaturedKuwait News

2024 Council sees 22% surge in new faces over previous term

According to the Ministry of Information, eight new deputies entered the 2024 Council, while three deputies returned from previous councils, with the voter turnout rate recorded at 62.1%

MP Osama Al-Zaid secured first place in the first district with 4936 votes. In the second district, MP Marzouq Al-Ghanim came first with 8295 votes, followed by MP Dr. Abdul Karim Al-Kandari who led the winners in the third district with 9428 votes

His Highness the Amir Sheikh Mishaal Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, may God protect him, sent congratulatory cables to the winners of the National Assembly 2024 membership.

In these cables, His Highness expressed sincere congratulations for the confidence that honorable citizens placed in their election to the National Assembly membership. His Highness also asked Almighty God for success for everyone in assuming this serious responsibility to serve the beloved country and contribute to its progress, development, and elevation.

The official final results of the 2024 national elections show that MP Osama Al-Zaid secured first place in the first district with 4936 votes. In the second district, MP Marzouq Al-Ghanim came first with 8295 votes, followed by MP Dr. Abdul Karim Al-Kandari who led the winners in the third district with 9428 votes. In the fourth district, MP Shuaib Al-Muwaziri secured first place with 15,663 votes, while MP Fahad Falah bin Jamemi topped the fifth district with 16,469 votes.

The deputy, Dr. Jinan Boushehri, secured her seat in the third district after garnering 4,976 votes and finishing ninth. The rate of change in the 2024 council compared to the previous council was 22%, with eight new deputies entering the 2024 council and three deputies returning from previous councils. The voter turnout rate was 62.1%, according to the Ministry of Information.

Eight new deputies

The results of the 2024 Council elections for the 18th legislative term witnessed the entry of eight new deputies, namely: Mohammed Jawhar Hayat, Basil Al-Bahrani, Dr. Badr Al-Dahom, Dr. Muhammad Al-Dahoum, Nawaf Al-Azmi, Anwar Al-Fikr, and the Majesty, Dr. Mohamed Musaed Al-Dosari.

Three deputies returned

Three deputies from previous councils returned in the 2024 elections, namely: Saleh Ashour, Ahmed Al-Fadl, and Dr. Obaid Al-Wasmi.

39 MPs retained their seats in the 2024 Council, including: in the first district, Osama Al-Zayd, Abdullah Al-Mudhaf, Ahmed Larry, Issa Al-Kandari, Khaled Al-Tammar, and Dr. Adel Al-Damkhi; in the second district, Marzouq Al-Ghanim, Shuaib Shaaban, Abdul Wahab Al-Issa, Dr. Falah Al-Hajri, Mohammed Al-Mutair, BadrNashmi, Abdullah Al-Anbai, Dr. Badr Al-Mulla, and Fahad Al-Masoud; in the third district, Dr. Abdul KarimAl-Kandari, Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Saqabi, Mahal Al-MudhalAl-Mudhaf, Fares Al-Ataibi, Ahmed Al-Saadoun, JarrahAl-Fawzan, Muhannad Al-Sayer, Dr. Jinan Bushehri, and Hamad Al-Obeid; in the fourth district, Shoaib Al-Muwaizri, Mohammed Al-Raqib, Dr. Mubarak Al-Tashha, Badr Sayyar, Saad Al-Khanfour, Fayez Al-Jamour, Mubarak Al-Hajraf, and Mohammed Haif; and in the fifth district, Fahad Falah bin Jami, Hamdan Al-Azmi, Saud Al-Asfour, Hani Shams, Dr. Abdulhadi Al-Ajmi, Khaled Al-Mouns, and Majid Al-Mutairi.

Deputies apologised

The deputies apologized for not participating in the 2024 National Assembly elections, namely MPs Osama Al-Shaheen and Dr. Improve from the first district.

Unlucky deputies

The election results led to the defeat of seven deputies across the five districts, namely: Hamad Al-Mudlaj, Dr. Hamad Al-Matar, Hamad Al-Ulayan, Abdullah Fahad, Miteb Al-Rathan, Dr. Mohammed Al-Huwayla, and Dr. Mohammed Al-Muhan.

Appreciative efforts necessitate gratitude to all ministries and parties that contributed to the preparation and organization of the democratic celebration of the 2024 National Assembly elections, which Kuwait experienced on Thursday and Friday. The elections were held for the second time during the holy month of Ramadan.

The ministry thanked traffic department, patrols, criminal investigations, state security, and public relations, and also extended thanks to the men of the National Guard, judges, advisers, prosecutors, and workers in the Ministry of Justice for their great efforts. Additionally, the ministry expressed gratitude to the governors, the Minister of Information, the news sector, political programs, workers in television and radio, and the Kuwait News Agency (KUNA).

The ministry also expressed gratitude to the Association of Journalists and Election Observers, healthcare professionals, the public fire force, the municipality, and the Education Ministry which contributed to the equipping of schools and electoral committees. Thanks were given to the volunteers and the Kuwaiti Red Crescent, and to everyone who contributed to the success of the electoral day.

Read Today's News TODAY...
on our Telegram Channel
click here to join and receive all the latest updates t.me/thetimeskuwait

Back to top button