Forgot your password?

Back to login

Yogi Adityanath will take oath as UP's 32nd Chief Minister tomorrow
March 18, 2017, 5:39 pm

Yogi Adityanath, the BJP's five-time parliamentarian, will be the new Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. A short while ago, Mr. Adityanath joined a meeting of the party's 312 newly-elected MLAs in state capital Lucknow, where he was formally elected as their new leader. He will be sworn in tomorrow at Lucknow's sprawling Smriti Upvan complex near the Ambedkar memorial at 2.15 pm.

Uttar Pradesh will also have two deputy chief ministers: Dinesh Sharma, the Lucknow Mayor who has party president Amit Shah's trust, and Keshav Prasad Maurya, the party president in Uttar Pradesh and the BJP's face among the state's most backward castes.

The name of Yogi Adityanath, also the head priest of the Gorakhnath temple in eastern UP, began to do the rounds as a possible candidate only on Saturday afternoon. As his supporters raised slogans in Lucknow this morning to demand that Yogi Adityanath be made Chief Minister, the lawmaker flew down to New Delhi to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi and returned to Lucknow on a chartered flight along with the party's UP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Sources said the party's ideological mentor, the RSS, vetoed the party's top choice for Chief Minister, union telecom minister Manoj Sinha. BJP President Amit Shah met RSS leaders today to finalise who would be Chief Minister.

Yogi Adityanath was seen as the most popular leader among the BJP cadre in eastern UP, sources said.

Source: ndtv

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery