Forgot your password?



Back to login

WhatsApp allows deleting sent messages
November 6, 2017, 2:49 pm
Share/Bookmark

WhatsApp is adding the ability to delete and revoke messages after you have sent them, following a test of the feature for most of 2017. You will now be able to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them, and they will disappear from conversations or group chats.

A new WhatsApp support article reveals that both sender and receiver will need the latest WhatsApp for this feature to work. The feature is rolling out gradually to WhatsApp users this week.

To delete messages you will get a new option after you select delete, allowing you to “delete for everyone” instead of just from your own device. While the feature appears to be rolling out, it is not fully live just yet. WhatsApp does warn that “recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful,” so it is not a guarantee. It is also possible that WhatsApp users will still see messages in notifications before they are deleted.

Either way, this is a good addition for those mistaken messages or anger -inspired ones. Just remember it might not always work, and WhatsApp will not notify you if it does fail.
 

Share your views
CAPTCHA
 

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery