Forgot your password?

Back to login

Republika ng Sports sa Kuwait marks year-end awards and fun-tasy night
January 5, 2015, 11:17 am

Republika ng Sports sa Kuwait (RSK) marked its year end celebration by giving out awards to its members, costumes displays and family entertainment for all those who attended the occasion. The anticipated event was held at the Swiss Bel hotel in Kuwait City and graced by sponsors, donors and supporters of the group.

The crowd cheered as contestants for the costume competition paraded on the stage immediately followed by a song by a Filipino tenor Jummel Carvajal and Soprano Victoria Nonog. A clip of GMA 7 Lupang Hinirang was projected on screen marking the official start of the occasion. RSK President Ricardo De Los Santos and Chairperson Felix Besanez delivered welcome remarks and awarded Plaques of Recognition to sponsors and friends including honored players such as: Most Improved Player, Best in Sportsmanship, RSK Heart Awards, Leadership Awards and followed by dinner paired with presentations by contestants for the talent night. Medals and plaques were handed over to all the winners and recipients.

Winners were: Best Costume Winner Ryan Buenaventura ‘The Twilight Vampire’, Best Costume Runner Up Titus Besañez  ‘Batman’, Talent Quest Winner RSK All-Star (Dance Remix), Talent Quest Runner Up Ryan Rivera with the song ‘Go the Distance’ , RSK Star King of the Night Erwin Mercado and RSK Star Queen of the Night  Sheryl Isidro. 

Sponsors of the event were; Conor Express Cargo, Filinvest, International Kuwait, GMA Network  and The Morning Talk, Amani Sapet, Alicafe’ (Kuwait Proteins Co.), Mediacom and BPI and Western Union. 

Winners of the 5th Badminton Tournament “Winter Tournament Kapico Travels and Tours Cup” are:
Team Event Category Champion Team Byddyminton with James Aguinaldo, Joemar Malaya, Cedric Navales and  Jhelson De Guzman, Runner Up Team Ali Café with Essam Meslmani, Medo Aboud, Bryan Casil and Riyadh Baik, MVP Aguinaldo and Best Umpire Gerry Aguilar.

Lower Mix Doubles – Group B are Champions Valerie Reyes and Adora Sta. Teresa, Second Place Karen Villafuerte and Michelle Karen Bisig, Third Place Marissa Nillama and Allujen Mag-usara, MVP Valerie Reyes and Best Umpire Marissa Nillama. Lower Mix Doubles Group A are Champions Grethel Marie Igot and Elith Salenga,  Second Place Christopher Abraham and Monaliza Magliba, Third Place Louie Ladaga and Mars Amor Mendez,  MVP Grethel Marie Igot and Best Umpire Gerald Sampang. Level D Doubles Category are Champions Randycho Ramos and Maritess Samiana, Second Place Adrian Maning and Rhea Cocjin, Third Place Abdul Fattah Halabi and Cong Amos Tadlas, MVP Randycho Ramos and Best Umpire Randycho Ramos.

Level C Doubles Category Champion Christopher Abraham and Daniel Abejaron, Second Place Grethel Marie Igot and Kris Zarcal, Third Place Miguel Milla and Gwendolyn Tito, MVP Christopher Abraham and Best Umpire Miguel Milla. Level B Doubles Category are Champions Manalo and Abdel Rahman Tarek, Second Place Ashraf Komath and Lina Al Jammal, Third Place Danilo Isidro and Mariel Besañez, MVP Abdel Rahman Tarek and Best Umpire Bheng De Guino. Level A Doubles Category are Champions Raza Mustafa and Joey Maravillas, Second PlaceNikka Mae Rhoda and Mazahir Shabbir, Third Place Joel Buot  and Jean Go Acasio, MVP Raza Mustafa and Best Umpire Shazad Ashraf. RSK holds its weekly Friday meet up at Kazma Club. 

By Ricky Laxa
Staff Writer

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery