Forgot your password?

Back to login

Nobel peace prize shared by Iraqi, Congolese activists
October 6, 2018, 9:47 am

The Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo decided Friday to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 to Denis Mukwege from the Democratic Republic of Congo and Nadia Murad from Iraq for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.

The committee in a press release said both laureates have made a crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, such war crimes. Nadia Murad is a member of the Yazidi minority in northern Iraq, where she lived with her family in the remote village of Kocho. In August 2014 the so­called Islamic State (IS) launched "a brutal, systematic attack on the villages of the Sinjar district, aimed at exterminating the Yazidi population.

In Nadia Murad's village, several hundred people were massacred. The younger women, including underage children, were abducted," it noted. She refused to accept the social codes that require women to remain silent and ashamed of the abuses to which they have been subjected. She has shown uncommon courage in recounting her own sufferings and speaking up on behalf of other victims, it said.

The physician Denis Mukwege has spent large parts of his adult life helping the victims of sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo is responsible for selecting the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates.

The Peace Prize is the only Nobel Prize not presented in Stockholm, Sweden. The prize is worth 9 million SEK (USD 1.1 million.) Some 331 individuals and organisations were nominated for the Nobel peace award this year. Since Since 1901 the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 96 times, to 125 laureates: 86 men, 16 women and 23 organizations.

Source: KUNA

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery