Forgot your password?

Back to login

Manmohan expands Cabinet, eight new ministers inducted
June 17, 2013, 3:57 pm

Eight new faces were inducted into Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's council of ministers on Monday — possibly the last reshuffle before the 2014 general elections.

Sisram Ola, Oscar Fernandes, along with Girija Vyas and KS Rao, were inducted as Cabinet ministers.

The ministers of state are Manikrao Gavit, Santosh Chowdhury, J D Seelam, E M S Natchiappan.

Ola and Fernandes were ministers in the UPA-I but did not find a place in the UPA-2 government.

With the new induction, the strength of the council of ministers go up to 77.

The expansion-cum-reshuffle of the council of ministers has been necessitated by the exit of ministers from DMK as well as resignation of Pawan Kumar Bansal, Ashwani Kumar, Ajay Maken and C P Joshi.

Cabinet ministers:

* Oscar Fernandes gets roads and highways ministry
* Girija Vyas becomes housing and urban development and poverty alleviation minister
* Sis Ram Ola becomes labour and employment minister
* K S Rao gets textiles ministry

Ministers of state:

* EMS Natchiyappan takes oath as MoS commerce and industry
* J D Seelam becomes MoS finance
* Manikrao Gavit gets social justice and empowerment
* Santosh Chowdhury gets health & family welfare

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery