Forgot your password?

Back to login

Kuwait wins seat at UN Security Council
June 3, 2017, 6:40 pm

Kuwait was elected on Friday to serve as non-permanent member on the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for two-year term beginning in January 2018. In only one round of voting, the United Nations General Assembly gathered in its main hall and elected Kuwait, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, the Netherlands, Peru and Poland, whom were running unopposed for the five vacant regional group seats.

Out of the 192 ballots cast, Kuwait received 188 votes, Cote d’Ivoire 189, Equatorial Guinea 185, Poland 190 and Peru 186. The Netherlands takes over from Italy for a one-year term, after they agreed to split a two-year term as a non-permanent member for Security Council. They received 184 votes.

His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah sent a cable of congratulations to First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah over Kuwait being elected as a non-permanent member at the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) 2018-2019.

His Highness the Amir hailed the Foreign Minister for all the effort made by him, along with the ministry staff. He lauded the Kuwaiti diplomacy for being able to secure 188 votes in the elections, wishing for them more success in the future in serving Kuwait.

His Highness the Crown Prince Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, His Highness the Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah and National Assembly Speaker Marzouq Al-Ghanim sent similar cables to the Foreign Minister.

The five overall seats available for election in 2017 were two seats for the African Group (Cote D'Ivoire and Equatorial Guinea); one seat for the Group of Asia and the Pacific Small Island Developing States (Kuwait); one seat for the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States (Peru); one seat for the Eastern European Group (Poland); and one seat for the Western European and Others Group (the Netherlands).

The five new members elected this year will take up their seats on 1 January, 2018 and will serve through to 31 December, 2019. Kuwait First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al Hamad Al Sabah led the Kuwaiti delegation during the voting process, accompanied by Kuwait's Ambassador to the US Sheikh Salem Abdullah Al Jaber Al Sabah, and Sheikh Sabah Al Khaled's office Director, Ambassador Sheikh Dr. Ahmad Nasser Al Sabah, as well as Kuwait's Permanent representative to the UN Mansour Al Otaibi and Deputy Assistant Foreign Minister for International Organizations Nasser Al Hayyen.

Kuwait, which joined the United Nations in 1963, had been elected only once as a non-permanent Security Council member in 1978-1979.

During the campaign for membership, which it launched in 2016, Kuwait pledged to adopt balanced policies in dealing with the issues on the agenda of the Security Council.

Following the winning of the seat, Kuwait reiterated its intention to follow up on the implementation of Security Council decisions on conflict resolution in the region. It also said it was looking forward to representing its regional grouping and to refer its concerns to the Security Council in order to contribute to security and stability at the regional and international levels.

The Security Council is made up of 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms and five permanent powers: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States. The Council is considered to be the only UN body that can issue binding resolutions.

Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery