Forgot your password?

Back to login

India launches visa on arrival for UAE and 42 other nations
November 27, 2014, 6:43 pm

With the launch of electronic visa (e-visa) facility on Thursday, tourists from 43 countries can apply for Indian visa in four simple steps.

The step is aimed at boosting tourism sector and offer hassle-free travel to foreign nationals.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, along with Union Minister of Culture and Tourism Mahesh Sharma launched the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) service enabled with electronic travel authorisation (ETA) scheme here.

Tourists from countries such as the US, the UAE, Brazil, Cambodia, Kenya, Oman, Singapore, Norway, Thailand, among others can avail this facility.

"India has a unique advantage in tourism sector owing to its geographical location and that no other country offers such abundance of diversity in weather conditions," said Singh.

This visa will allow entry of the tourists into India within 30 days from the date of approval of ETA and will be valid for 30 days stay in India from the date of arrival in India.

The facility will be extended to other nations in a phased manner.

The tourists will be allowed to enter and depart from nine international airports - Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram.

Tourists availing this facility would be able to go for usual sightseeing and recreational activities. The tourism ministry has included facilities like short duration medical visit and casual business visit with e-visa.

Partial list of countries

The TVOA enabled with ETA Scheme will facilitate nationals of 43 countries including:

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • Cook Islands
  • Djibouti
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of Tongo
  • Laos
  • Luxembourg
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand
  • Niue
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palestine
  • Papua & New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Kiribati
  • Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea)
  • Republic of Marshall Islands
  • Republic of Nauru
  • Republic of Palau
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • Thailand
  • Tuvalu
  • UAE
  • Ukraine
  • USA
  • Vietnam
  • Vanuatu


Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery