Forgot your password?

Back to login

IES hosts Investiture ceremony
May 10, 2016, 12:09 pm

The Student Council of the academic year 2016-17 of Indian Educational School (Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan) was inducted on 4 May in a very solemn Investiture held in the school auditorium.  The occasion was graced by the presence of the Chief Guest,  Amit Sarraf, Assistant General Manager – Cards Division, Gulf Bank. The other dignitaries present for the function were the Chairman of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Middle East, N. K. Ramachandran Menon, the Principal of IES, T Premkumar, Vice Principals, the Supervisor Management, the teachers and the students of Grades 11 and 12.  

The event commenced with the recital of the Holy Quran, prayer song and the rendition of the Kuwait National Anthem by the school choir. The gathering was welcomed by Anirudha Ramesh (12 A), the Deputy Head Boy of the academic session 2015-16.

The newly elected student council members marched into the auditorium following the epoch-making process of conferring sashes and badges of honour to the newly sworn in Student Council members by the Chief Guest,  along with the Chairman and the Principal.

It was the newly elected Head Boy, Aditya Jaypal of Grade 12A, and the Head Girl, Evelyn Biju George of Grade 12B who received the honours first. The Chief Guest also presented sashes and badges of honour to the other office bearers of the student council, viz. Junior Head Boy, Junior Head Girl, Deputy Head Boy, Deputy Head Girl, Cultural Secretary (Boy And Girl), Deputy Cultural Secretary (Boy And Girl), Sports Captain (Boy And Girl), Deputy Sports Captain (Boy And Girl), Public Relations Officer, Deputy Public Relations Officer and the Student Editor. The house captains of the four houses of the school, namely Sanskriti, Satya, Seva and Tapas also received the sashes and flags from the chief guest. The other office members of the student council were adorned with insignias of honour by the vice principals, heads of the departments, and the house masters respectively.

The Oath Taking Ceremony was initiated by the Principal, Mr. Premkumar. The Head Boy and the Head Girl delivered their formal acceptance speeches and expressed their happiness in adorning the posts of the governing body of the school.  

Mr. Sarraf, in his address expressed his delight and pride in being a part of such a programme. He urged the students to be disciplined, determined and to possess the willpower to lead a successful life. He urged the young leaders to set examples, take responsibilities, and be selfless in guiding others.   He said, “A leader is someone who takes up challenges and carries his subjects along with him/her…In order to be a great leader, consider Determination, Discipline and Willpower as three pillars.” He also shared his personal experience of being the football and cricket captain during his school days.

N.K. Ramachandran Menon, the Chairman, Bhavans Middle East and Mr. Premkumar, conjointly presented the Chief Guest a memento as a token of gratitude and respect. Arpita Sherry (12 B), the Deputy Head Girl of the academic session 2015-16, proposed the vote of thanks. Raj Bankoda and Megha Varnika Budati of Grade 11 were the emcees of the programme. The inspiring Investiture concluded with the singing of the Indian National Anthem.

Photo Gallery
Share your views

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery