Forgot your password?



Back to login

Google launches Trusted Contacts app to share your location
February 13, 2017, 8:17 pm
Share/Bookmark

When Google discontinued its location tracking app ‘Latitude’ in 2013, it never truly made a replacement. Now with Trusted Contacts, Google is bringing location tracking so you can communicate with and locate loved ones in cases of emergency.

Trusted Contacts lets you add people with whom you want to share your whereabouts, whether it is your GPS location or if you are online. During a crisis, friends and family members can request your status to see if you are safe, and you can respond with your location to let them know you are okay, or deny the request.

If you do not respond within five minutes, the app will automatically broadcast your location or your last known location if your phone is offline, to the contact. The app can also be used as a virtual companion — you can share your commute with a friend so they can watch to see that you have made it safely to your final destination. When you get to your location, push the button at the top of your screen or on the lock screen to end sharing.

Although Trusted Contacts is designed to be a personal safety app, it is also rife with potential misuses. Jealous boyfriends, abusive spouses, or nosey friends can keep their eyes on your whereabouts at all times if you leave the app passively running in the background, so it is up to you to carefully choose who you want keeping track of your location.

Trusted Contacts is free to download on Android.

Share your views
CAPTCHA
 

"It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed."

"Envy comes from wanting something that isn't yours. But grief comes from losing something you've already had."

Photo Gallery