Contrary to what many mobile Android users believe, you cannot stop Google Photos from sending images on your phone to its cloud backup just by uninstalling the app.
Users have uninstalled the Photos app on their Android devices without realizing that backup as an Android service is still enabled. This is fine if you inadvertently deleted photos from your mobile and wanted it back, but what if you intentionally wanted to delete those photos?
Google said it is committed to resolving the issue and was working to make the messaging clearer as well as provide users who uninstall the Photos app an easy way to also disable backup.
Right now, users wanting to shut off backup sync will have to do so manually. To shut down the backup between an Android phone and a Google cloud account, users will have to select the Google Photos option from the Google Settings menu and then toggle the ‘Backup’ slider to the ‘Off’ position.
Google may be ahead of its time on myriad innovations, but its desire to track the footsteps of users online and offline has led many to mistrust the company. Those worries are valid, but so is the tech. Many users would be happy to discover that their photos from a lost, damaged or stolen phone are still safely backed up in Google’s cloud.